Create a New Workflow

Open a New Workflow

If you are not in the workflow view of the CARMEN Portal, select the “Workflows” tab in the left hand panel. Then click on the text button “Create New Workflow“.

createWorkflowPic1
Select the workflow view and create a new workflow

You will then be asked to give a name and a description to the new workflow. The name of the workflow will appear in the tree view in the left hand panel, so should be short but meaningful. The description allows a longer and more meaningful decription of the service to be given. Below the workflow name and description is the graphical workflow design area, although it will be initially empty.

createWorkflowPic2
Give the workflow a name and a description

Add Services

To add services to the workflow editor, click on the services tab. The graphical workflow editor panel will remain in the right panel, but you will see the services tree view in the left panel. Selecting a service, either via search or the favourites, and you will see an “Add Service” text button appear in the right hand panel – clicking on this button will make a service element appear in the workflow design editor.

createWorkflowPic3
Add a service to the graphical workflow editor

The service can then be moved by placing a mouse cursor over it, pressing a mouse key then dragging it to the new position. More services can be added in the same way, either multiples of the same service or different ones.

Each service element on the workflow has two icons in the top right corner; a spanner and a black circle containing an “X“. Clicking the spanner allows the user to change any parameter values that the service may have. Clicking the “X” will remove the service element from the panel.

Adding Input Data Files

To add a data file to the graphical workflow editor, click on the “Data” tab in the left hand panel. The graphical editor will remain in the right hand panel. Select a file, either from the file tree or via search – this should make the “Add File” button appear in the right hand panel. Clicking this button will add a representation of the file appear in the graphical editor. You can then move the file representation to anywhere you choose on the editor’s canvas.

Adding an Output Folder

To get data out of a workflow you must add an output folder. Any of the files, either input, intermediary or output files can be placed in an output folder.

To add an output folder to the graphical editor, click on the data view and select a folder from the file view tree. Once a folder is selected, the “Add Output Folder” text button should appear in the right hand panel – clicking the button will add a representation of the output folder to the graphical workflow editor panel. You can then position the folder anywhere on the panel as you please.

Connecting Workflow Entities

Notice that each service representation in the workflow editor has node connections on the either side; the left hand nodes represent input files and the right hand nodes represent output files. Hoverring your mouse over the connectors will give you information about the connector. It will also highlight in green all other nodes in the editor that this could be connected to.

To connect an input to an output connection, simply use drag and drop from either of the connectors to the other. Note that you cannot connect outputs together, other than in the output folder.

createWorkflowPic4
A completed workflow containing a single service

 Final Details

The workflow can be saved at any point by clicking the “Save Workflow” text button. The workflow can then be closed, enabling the user to run the workflow, or to perform some other task.

User’s can set sharing permissions on their own workflows by selecting the workflow from the tree view and clicking the “Sharing” button on the right hand side panel. This will bring up the sharing panel allowing you to set the appropriate permission.

The workflow sharing panel
The workflow sharing panel

The workflow can be edited at a later data by selecting the workflow and clicking the “Load Workflow” button. When editing, previous versions of a workflow are kept, and can be referred back to at any point.