Data Repository Overview

The CARMEN data repository allows neuroscientists to upload, share, and download data from an online facility. Once logged in and in workspace view, users can select the data tab from the left hand panel to see a data view of the repository.

Data view
Data view

In the left hand panel, there is a search box and a file tree view, containing four folders; public, shared, groups and a folder containing their name. The folder containing their name is that user’s own data space within the CARMEN repository. Here users can upload their own data, and place the results of services or workflows. Note, that each user will see a different file tree view, as they have their own user space and will have different people and groups sharing with them.

The search box allows data to be found in their own and shared folders. We also support NIF synonyms in the search box.

The right hand panel changes depending on what you select in the left hand panel. Selecting a file allows you to:

  • View Metadata – view the metadata document that was attached when the file was created/uploaded;
  • Edit Metadata – edit the metadata document, and choose whether changes are applied to associeated documents;
  • Annotate – add comments to the data
  • Sharing – view and/or change the sharing permissions on the data and the metadata, either seperately or combined. The sharing permission options are private, shared, public and group access;
  • Download – download the data file to the local disk space on your computer;
  • View – allows you to view the data file in a client browser on your local machine. This requires the data to be (transparently) downloaded;
  • Copy – copies a file to a clipboard for later pasting. Note that the new file created will be a link to the original;
  • Cut – cuts a file to the clipboard, for later pasting;
  • Rename – renames a file. If the file is shared it will be renamed in the other user’s view as well;
  • Delete – deletes a file from your  data space in the CARMEN storage system. Note that you cannot delete a file that has been shared, it must be unshared first.

Selecting a folder allows you to perform similar commands;

  • Download – Download the folder and it’s contents to the local disk on your computer;
  • New – Create a subfolder within the currently selected folder;
  • Rename – Rename the folder name;
  • Delete – Delete the folder and all it’s contents.